Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


How many times I’ve read over the Promises that the Lord has given me. It seems each time I read them, I am encouraged anew. I can sleep in peace knowing that my Lord cares – and that He is still in control.

Laying here on my bed recovering from a long and busy day at work, I picked up an old journal. Flipping through the pages, I “randomly” stopped to read a Promise given to me on Wednesday, 15 April 2009.

I know exactly where I was sitting when I wrote that journal entry – the patio of my then rented town home was a favorite perch of mine. There was a small lake in view and it was always comforting. The Mallard ducks swimming by with their babies in tow. It was a particularly difficult time as I was at the beginning of a very long dry season – I had been laid off from my job and it felt like nothing was going right. Hard to find the joy in a beautiful day when “all around my soul gives way.”

As I am now re-reading this Promise, I see something in the middle of it that I somehow missed before! Could it be that this is a timely message that He wants me to see? There are no accidents or coincidences when you live IN Him.

How many times we receive a Word from the Lord and either we ignore it (guilty) or we only hear the part that we want to hear (double guilty).

God doesn’t talk to us with nothing to say. What He speaks is not just idle conversation. He speaks to guide, direct, protect and encourage. He can give stern warning when we have gone astray and He can give comfort, peace and joy in the midst of trials – even those we manage to bring on ourselves for not listening the first time….

What struck me as I read this Promise again now over a year later is that there is a “condition” attached!

Read with me:

(11) “And the Lord shall guide you continually and satisfy you in drought and dry places and make strong your bones. And you shall be like a watered garden and like a spring of water whose waters fail not.

(12) “And your ancient ruins shall be rebuilt; you shall raise up the foundation of buildings that have laid waste; and you shall be called repairer of the breach. . .

(13) “If you turn away your foot from [traveling unduly on] the Sabbath, from doing your own pleasure on My holy day, and call the Sabbath a delight . . . and honor Him, not going your own way or seeking your own pleasure . . .

(14) “Then will you delight yourself in the Lord and I will make you to ride on the high places of the earth and I will feed you with the heritage promised for you . . . for the mouth of the Lord has spoken it.”

Isaiah 58:11-14 AMP

Did you get that?

The first two verses contain the Promise. The third verse contains the Condition of the Promise (IF you do this…) and the fourth verse states the fulfillment IF the condition is met (Then . . . I will).

Wow. I haven’t ever seen that before!! Well, ok – maybe it was one of those I ignored by reading right over top of it. I saw only what I wanted – heard only I wanted…. – but my spiritual eyes definitely see and my heart hears.

Looking at this, I wonder if this is the one hindrance to the fulfillment of my Promise!

Here again I realize that my focus has been on the expedient return of my Beloved Husband whom I miss with my entire being – and not on my Lord. My focus has been on praying for the Lord to remove my Beloved’s heart of stone and give to him a heart of flesh. Nothing wrong with that – but I definitely confess I’m having a hard time striking a balance between my God-given desire for the restoration of my Marriage – and focusing on my relationship with my Heavenly Husband.

Ouch…

Heavenly Father – I confess my short-sighted and limited focus. My thoughts should always be on You with the goal of growing in you first and seeing my One-flesh Covenant Mate confessing You as his Savior and Lord of his life. Forgive me that I sometimes forget that I need to change my focus to be more on You and being like You. Forgive me for my disobedience to Your Word and help me to do what You are calling me to do – to love You with all my heart, mind, body and spirit and to serve You until You call me home.

Precious Father, I thank you for Your faithfulness to this wayward Prodigal Child of Yours. Your mercy and love overwhelm. I love You Lord – and I praise you for Your love endures forever.

Amen

><>     ><><><     <><

 

© 2010 TheEphesianMarriage. All rights reserved by TheEphesianMarriage unless otherwise stated. All other symbols are the copyrighted trademarks of their respective owners.

