Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


DO NOT FEAR! I Have Summoned You by Name.

I’m sitting on my front porch in the cool, humid morning that is a Florida summer day. It is quiet this morning – the quiet broken only by the distant sound of a woodpecker and the breeze rustling through the palm trees in front of my home. The flowers are in bloom and the bees are buzzing. I look up in time to see a hummingbird stop for a cool drink for his journey. In all my twenty years here I have never seen a hummingbird. How awesome. Tiny miracles of creation. It reminds me of my elderly Grandmother who adores these tiny creatures and I make a mental note to call her later. Yes, in the midst of my meditations this morning, I have noticed the wonder of His creation and the beauty of it – and I am thankful. I am thankful and full of praise even though my heart breaks. My Beloved left at daybreak on yet another ski trip with his jet ski club – without me. I am thankful that I had the opportunity to see him off with a smile and a prayer in my heart for his safety – even though inside my heart cries out because I am not going with him. I see a fleeting moment of recognition when our eyes meet and I know he knows my thoughts. As he pulls away, I wave with a smile – and I struggle to hold back the tears that burn. But as I sit here with my Bible, I know even now that God is at work – and He is here with me.

He has brought me to Isaiah 43. Oh how sweet the promises of His Word.

“But now, thus says the LORD, your Creator . . . and He Who formed you . . . ‘Do not fear, for I have redeemed you; I HAVE CALLED YOU BY NAME; you are Mine! When you pass through the waters, I will be with you; and through the rivers, they will not overflow you. When you walk through the fire, you will not be scorched, nor will the flame burn you. For I AM the LORD your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Savior. I have given Egypt as your ransom . . . Since you are precious in My sight, since you are honored and I love you . . . Do not fear, for I AM with you; I will bring your offspring from the east, and gather you from the west. I will say to the north, ‘Give them up!’ And to the south, ‘Do not hold them back!’ Bring My sons and daughters from the ends of the earth, everyone who is called by My Name, and whom I have created for My glory . . .Bring out the people who are blind, even though they have eyes, and the deaf, even though they have ears. All the nations have gathered together in order that the peoples may be assembled. Who among them can declare this and proclaim to us the former things? Let them present their witness that they may be justified . . . YOU ARE MY WITNESSES, declares the LORD, and MY SERVANT WHOM I HAVE CHOSEN, IN ORDER THAT YOU MAY KNOW AND BELIEVE ME AND UNDERSTAND THAT I AM HE. Before Me there was no God formed, and there will be none after Me. I, even I AM the LORD, and there is no Savior besides Me. It is I Who have declared and saved and proclaimed, and there was no strange god among you; so YOU ARE MY WITNESSES, declares the LORD, and I AM God. Even from eternity I AM He, and there is NONE who can deliver out of My hand; I act and who can reverse it? . . . Thus says the LORD, Who makes a way through the sea and a path through the mighty waters . . . Do not call to mind the former things, or ponder things of the past. Behold, I WILL DO SOMETHING NEW, NOW IT WILL SPRING FORTH; will you not be aware of it? I will even make a roadway in the wilderness, rivers in the desert. . . . I HAVE GIVEN waters in the wilderness and rivers in the desert, to give drink to My CHOSEN people. THE PEOPLE WHOM I HAVE FORMED FOR MYSELF WILL DECLARE MY PRAISE.” Isaiah 43:1-13; 18-21 NASB (all emphasis mine).

All those “nations” that have assembled before you, which of any of them can declare and proclaim the former things or the things to come. Let them present their witness to justify what they say. How can they tell you what you need to do? Are you listening to them? Have they not just become “strange gods” among you? None of them can know what GOD has called you for and is telling you to do. You are not to call to mind the former things or ponder the things of the past within your mind or with others. Don’t even discuss them anymore. That is a form of complaining — and it’s a tool the devil uses to keep you from moving forward. If you keep looking back, you can’t see what God has right in front of you. If you keep looking back, you’ll stay in the dark. God has called forth something new in your life. Will you not be aware of it because you are still living in and pondering on the things of the past? Do not let anyone become a “strange god” among you for He alone is God and “Even from eternity I AM He, and there is none who can deliver . . .” YOU are God’s witness.

Along with the precious promises of His Love and Restoration, what struck me as I read is that WE as Standers are HIS witnesses and He HAS CHOSEN us in order that we may KNOW Him, BELIEVE Him and UNDERSTAND that He IS God! Apart from that, if there is such a thing, He alone is our deliverer and NO ONE can reverse that! This goes back to the human will versus the Divine Will of God. When God does something – no matter what we do – it cannot be reversed! Praise God! No matter what I’ve done to “help myself,” I can KNOW, UNDERSTAND and BELIEVE that He is still sitting on His Throne with all the details of my life under His control – AND He has declared that I AM HIS WITNESS to HIS Power and Glory!

Did you hear that? My life – YOUR life – is a witness to Him and what He is able to do in and through us. Brother and Sister with me! Praise God! He is working! And He is bringing back the Prodigal Spouses – His sons and daughters – from the ends of the earth. He is bringing them back home to Him – and to you and me. And as His witness, people around us will see God’s glory in what He IS doing in our Marriages. I can tell you for certain, WHEN the blessing of a restored Marriage happens in this household, people will know beyond a shadow of a doubt WHO restored this Marriage.

Hold on. Remember Whose you are and live for the glory of His Name for “Behold, I will do something new, now it will spring forth; will you not be aware of it?”

Stand firm for “The people whom I have formed for Myself will declare My praise.”

Amen.

><>     ><><><     <><

 

© 2010 The Ephesian Marriage. All rights reserved by The Ephesian Marriage unless otherwise stated. All other symbols are the registered trademarks of their respective owners.

