Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


That Same Power that Raised Our Savior from the Dead is the Same Power that Will Raise Our Marriages from the Dead

I’m sitting in the airport on an American Holiday waiting to travel for business. It’s been a very busy time for me lately and over a period of several days I’ve been drafting another post about the Power of God to raise the dead – specifically dead Marriages. I was recently asked by a family member how long I intended to wait. Without hesitation I answered, “Forever.” Silence…. I asked why the silence. The response was there is nothing I can say because I’m under conviction to remain silent but to continue to encourage you and uplift you through prayer. I apologized because I knew it was and is a tiresome task. But just like that God was at work to keep me moving forward in my Stand. And I recognized Him and what He was and is doing. It was then that I started to draft the post about Him raising to life that which is dead. In the meantime, I’ve received an email devotional regarding this very thing – so I will post that in its entirety. I feel God speaking to me – still. Encouraging me – still. Walking with me and holding me – still.

Dear Stander, don’t quit. Though the pain is great and the mountains seem like they will never move – and it seems as though the desire of your heart is only a dream, don’t give up. Oh please don’t quit! Behind this blog is one who knows your heart. I know your fear; your doubt; your pain; your depression; your anger; the rejection; your hurt… I know your heart. I know how it hurts and I know what it is to want to respond in kind. But don’t. Let the Lord do it for you. Vengeance belongs to Him. Instead recognize that your Spouse is not your enemy. Become burdened for the salvation of your Prodigal Spouse and your Marriage and your children. The Witness of the Stander is of immeasurable worth in the eyes of those watching – waiting. And even more than that, what you’re doing is of far more value in the eyes of God. This is for the Glory of your Savior and Lord – and you can’t have any regrets for that.

The Lord bless you and keep you and fill you with His Love, Mercy and Peace and grant you the desires of your heart – His way.

+ + + + + + +

“Jesus said, ‘This sickness will not end in death. No, it is for God’s glory so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” John 11:4

I receive many e-mails asking, “Why is God taking so long to heal my marriage?” Questions such as this remind me of the story of Lazarus in the Gospel of John, Chapter 11. Jesus had performed many miracles; including raising several people from the dead, yet people still did not believe that He was the Son of God. He loved Lazarus yet He did not immediately go to his side when He was informed of his sickness.

Jesus let Lazarus die and remain in the grave for four days. Disbelievers in the past had dismissed Jesus’ power to raise people from the dead by saying the individuals were just sleeping and not really dead. Jesus removed all doubt in His ability to heal by raising Lazarus from the dead after four days. Many people believed because they witnessed this event. God chose to glorify His Son by delaying the miracle.

God sometimes delays answers to prayers. His timing is always right. I believe that the story of Lazarus gives an insight into why God delays answers to prayers… “so that God’s Son may be glorified through it.” God is in the marriage healing business. Quick solutions to family problems do nothing to convince individuals that God is behind the healing. Only when a marriage is declared dead in the world’s eyes, buried, and kept in the ground until “by this time there is a bad odor” (John 11 :39), that God’s healing will be recognized by an unbelieving world. Your prolonged suffering and pain will bring glory to God when the ultimate healing takes place.

By looking at your marital problems through this perspective, your stand takes on a whole new meaning. You are partners with God in bringing many to believe in Him. This is not about broken relationships and hurt feelings. This is about advancing the Kingdom of God. God is using your situation to show those around you His power in healing families. He has taken that which Satan meant for harm and turned it into His ultimate good (Romans 8:28).

Your task in this time of waiting is to believe that God is able to do what He said He will do. You need to walk in faith and believe in His power to heal relationships. You need to be obedient to God and His Word, standing firm for your marriage.

“Then Jesus said, ‘Did I not tell you that if you believed, you would see the glory of God?'” John 11:40

Yes, you will see the glory of God in the healing of your marriage. Patiently wait for the Lord to act on your behalf. Spend this time apart from your spouse to grow closer to the Lord through daily prayer and scripture reading. Ask the Lord to change you into the spouse that He would have you to be and that your prodigal spouse needs and desires. Pray for other standers that their marriages will be healed. Being alone affords you the time to have a personal relationship with our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. Cherish these moments. Use them for the glory of God. He will bless your obedience.

“But for you who revere my name, the sun of righteousness will rise with healing in his wings.” Malachi 4:2

God heals marriages! May you be encouraged to know that your sharing in the sufferings of Jesus Christ’s death on the cross will bless many people as they come to believe in Him. Never give up the fight for your family.

“The Lord has done great things of us, and we are filled with joy.” Psalm 126:3

“Those who sow in tears, will reap with songs of joy.” Psalm 126:5

May you wait in joyful expectation for the Lord to raise your marriage from the tomb of separation and divorce.

“For he himself is our peace, who has made the two one and has destroyed the barrier, the dividing wall of hostility.” Ephesians 2:14

Dennis L. Wingfield
Rejoice Marriage Ministries

+ + + + + + +

Amen. And amen.

© 2009 – 2010 TheEphesianMarriage. All rights reserved by Celia Ann and TheEphesianMarriage unless otherwise stated. All other editions and symbols are the trademark of their respective owners as noted.

